Bonjour, Ahslehmah

Heading into week four in Tunisia and have had many adventures. Most interesting was our trip south 8 hours to Tataouine. Tataouine is a town surrounded by reddish rocky desert scrub and hills. It does look somewhat otherworldly so you can see why they filmed star wars here. Had a great time working with group of 30 women from one of the political parties launching them into political feminist speechifying. All very fun and inspiring. Mostly I have been working as we are cramming in as many trainings as possible before the summer/Ramadan slowdown – similar to May and June in Canada. I have been living in a hotel for this month (first in downtown Tunis, now in Gammarth) and look forward to my move into my La Marsa apartment in June. Daily life is in French, at work a mix of English, French and Tunisian Arabic and I do my trainings in English with translation into Arabic. I am aiming to do training in French. Still need some work/practice with verb tenses, grammar and vocab. Here are a few pictures, most taken with my BB and some from a moving car so please excuse the quality. When work slows down I will have more interesting ones. Bisous, AM

My neighbourhood in La Marsa!

My neighbourhood in La Marsa!
La Marsa from Gammarth hills. Are you coming to visit?

La Marsa from Gammarth hills. Are you coming to visit?

Morning coffee on hotel porch.

Morning coffee on hotel porch.

Olive trees as far as the eye can see. Yum

Olive trees as far as the eye can see. Yum

Good morning downtown Tunis

Good morning downtown Tunis

Desert flowers for my love.

Desert flowers for my love.

Views driving in the desert. Wide open skies.

Views driving in the desert. Wide open skies.

Ok so this is boring but just to say, same old highway rest stop on way to Tataouine, but with great espresso and pain au chocolat. Hmm Road trip in Tunisia better so far.

Ok so this is boring but just to say, same old highway rest stop on way to Tataouine, but with great espresso and pain au chocolat. Hmm Road trip in Tunisia better so far.

Can you picture Luke Skywalker?

Can you picture Luke Skywalker?

Lovely sunny office, Tunis

Lovely sunny office, Tunis

Views of Tunis

Views of Tunis

Rooouuunnnddding that traffic circle. Stay a few metres behind!

Rooouuunnnddding that traffic circle. Stay a few metres behind!

Cozy cottages of Tataouine hotel. Cute!

Cozy cottages of Tataouine hotel. Cute!

